Peaches Prattlings











{April 2, 2015}   Cooking with my sister, a wonderful tradition.

Tomorrow begins the holiday and festivities of Passover, or Pesach in Hebrew and one of my favorite traditions is cooking with my sister.

When we were kids mom would go to her mom’s to cook for a few days before and on the dad would bring us later to participate in the Seder and eat and eat and eat. As tomorrow is the first night, I will go into more details about the holiday and the food and the traditions, but today, I just want to tell you about my favorite tradition, cooking with family.

So, as I said, when we were kids, mom and grandma would do the majority of the cooking, then as we got older, first I would go and help, then when GES was a little older and could help, she joined us. What an amazing experience it was, the four of us cooking together in my grandmother’s kitchen.

Now, let me tell you, there was food and food and food, apparently we were cooking for an army and didn’t realize it! There could be 30 people at grandma’s house and there was still food left over! As my grandma got older, the celebration moved to our house and my mom, sister and I took over the bulk of the cooking, grandma was still responsible for certain things, very important things, like making her home made applesauce, oh my!

Then the year after my mom passed, GES and I took over, we didn’t have a huge crowd like we did when we were kids, but we made a fabulous meal and I know my mom would have been very proud of us, I know dad was, he told us, made us teary eyed, but it felt great. Ever since then, it’s been the two of us cooking for the sedar together. The year EJS was born was the year we established Passover in Boston and it’s been there ever since. Tomorrow I might tell you about the very expensive champagne turkey that year!

GES and I have been making our mom’s and grandma’s recipes for the Passover Seder since we were kids, why mess with perfection. We’ve added some things, taken some things away, maybe even tweaked a recipe or two here and there, but to be honest, not much has changed and we still use the prayer books and some of the serving pieces from when we were kids.

Every so often, we have help with cooking the meal, this year, GES “farmed” out the responsibility for some of the foods, but we still do the main dishes and we love doing it, no matter how tired we get, being on our feet for hours, after working a full day and then cooking. I got in about 7, they got back from dinner and we dove right in! She had already made a few things today, to save time, because tomorrow will be crazy busy and still more to cook and reheat, we have 24 people coming!

We talked, caught up and reminisced, what worked, what didn’t work, “didn’t we say the same thing last year?” “We need to write this stuff down so we don’t forget next year!”  Yeah, we said that last year! Like I said, no matter how tired we get being on our feet all day, this is something we love to do together, we measure, spoon out, spoon in, taste test, kibbitz, a Yiddish word for chatting or ‘shooting the…’ I think it brings us closer and it feels like we’re kids again and mom is going to walk into the kitchen at any moment and join in with the cooking.

We even followed in mom’s footsteps and put the food that wouldn’t fit in the fridge on the porch, this year, we have actual snow and ice to keep things cool!
image

I may not come home for all the holidays, but I always made sure, no matter what, I would always be home with my family at Passover and I would always cook the meal with my sister and I do not foresee that ever changing. I look forward to being much older and enjoying her girls preparing the Passover feast!

il_570xN.295586040

Leave a Reply

et cetera
