Peaches Prattlings











{March 5, 2015}   I’m on a runners high!

And I didn’t even run anywhere! But I did walk 17, 441 steps! Let me tell you how!

Today, I taught my first class on my new project and it was awesome! I got here last Monday and hit the ground running. Monday we did orientation, meet the other trainers, get the lay of the land, even started working on updates or talking points to some documentation.

Tuesday we did T3 or Train The Trainer. For those of you not “in the know” that is where someone trains the trainer, me, on the application. Depending on the size of the project, number of people to be trained, material covered, length of class times, a lot of factors, will determine how long T3 lasts. Well, we started last Tuesday and I taught my first class today!

During T3, we will watch a full class being presented and then over the next few days, the trainers will take turns doing teach backs, where they present to the instructors, to get a feel for the application and what they will be training and it gives the people running T3 an insight into the trainers strengths, weaknesses, how they will do in front of the class.

We started T3s on Wednesday, I was the second person to do a teach back and since I have more experience than the majority of the trainers on the team, I stayed to help them with their teach backs, go through the material, get comfortable in front of a class, some of them have never taught before. I had a lot of fun doing it and one of the reasons I enjoyed it is that when I am helping them, I am also reinforcing my knowledge of the product, so a win-win!

The first time you do a teach back on a new application is always the toughest, it’s new, unfamiliar territory and you want to get it right. After that, you’re golden. I have been practicing and I have been ready to go for a few days and today was the day. I was going to sit in on another trainer’s classes and be the co-teach and help her if she needed it, which she did not, just so you know! I was also there for moral support, which is always a good thing, I like think. It also helped reinforce things for when I was going to teach.

I’m always a little nervous when I teach my first full class, but I am good enough that you would never know it! Fooled you all! muwahaha!  It was time for my first class and I jumped right in and I told some bad jokes, got people comfortable and got started and I made the 1.5 hour fly by, at least I think and hope I did! Everyone seemed to learn a lot and have a good time, which is a great thing!

I was done with the second class and I was over the moon! I barely even look at my notes during the second class, that felt great! I walked around, looked at what everyone was doing, guided them to where they needed to be and taught two very successful classes, I am so very happy to say!

Now, back to my 17k steps! How did I do that, you might ask…well I’ll tell you. It starts with getting up at 5:30am, getting ready for work, heading out the door and then proctoring two classes that you never sit for, walk around to get the keys for the classrooms, never sit while you teach, then do 3.1 miles on the treadmill!

And now, my friends, I think I just hit the preverbal wall, I am going to say goodnight and pleasant dreams! I have to do it all again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
