Peaches Prattlings











{January 7, 2015}   Ouch, that didn’t feel so hot.

Today, I participated in that oh so fun activity that all women should have done every year, starting at age 40. I’ll give you one guess…

I had a mammogram! I know, you’re jealous, get back! I don’t know many people who don’t know what a mammogram is, but for those of you who do not know, it is a procedure used to help detect abnormalities in the breasts. It is recommended that you start at least by age 40, but if there is a family history, even as early as 35.

Let me just say, this is not the most fun activity and it was in 3D! Ooh…3D imaging, aren’t they already in 3D? Basically, they take your breast and put it between two parts of the machine and they come together to basically squish you. Do you remember the scene in Star Wars Episode IV, when they were in the garbage shoot and the trash compactor started? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7U3Oti2L8S4, yeah, kind of like that!

It’s not so much the squishing, although that’s not much fun, it’s the stretching at weird angles and holding it there for what feels like an eternity and I know it’s only a matter of seconds, that hurts.

The technician was pleasant enough, but I have been going to the same place in Atlanta for the last few years to a place my friend works and she had been doing them for me, she always put my mind at ease and elsewhere, this technician didn’t do a great job of it. Oh well, can’t win them all.

The whole thing took less than 8 minutes, if that. I called GES after and we talked about it and when she asked how I was doing, my response “I know I don’t want to go on any dates any time soon!” I will leave it at that.

I did it and unless there is something wrong, I am good for another year!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mammography

Leave a Reply

et cetera
