Peaches Prattlings











{October 1, 2014}   Networking…a really good thing!

Networking is so very important in today’s corporate world. I am sure you have heard this before, but I am here to tell you it’s true.

Tonight, I went to a work function, the project I am on is wrapping up and I, along with most of the team, is heading out tomorrow, so we were invited to The Captain’s Quarters, http://www.cqriverside.com/f, a restaurant in a lovely area by the water off River Street, about 15 minutes from downtown Louisville. It really was a lovely setting, right on the water, grass down to the dock and several boats waiting to go out and can you imagine the view as the sun was setting?

When we got there, I went to join a few friends already there and introduce myself to the person they were speaking with. When I said my name, she said “Oh yes! I know who you are, we were just reviewing your resume, there might be a project you are a fit for!” Oh wow! I am ready! What do you need to know?

Then, another manager walks over and before I can introduce myself, he says my full name and shakes my hand. What? How did he know my name?

Now, I am not complaining by any means, I can assure you, this is amazing. I have been with the company a short time, on two projects, this one for a relatively short time, and there are people talking about me and know my name? That is awesome! I don’t know if I told you how I ended up on this project, and if I have, I apologize for repeating myself. I called JM, as was recommended by my counselor, PD, and when there was a need on the team, JM said to call me because…I called him! It really does work!

Who knows what the future holds for me, but all I have to say is…go forth and network!

Positivity Challenge – Day #15
1 – I am thankful that my co-workers were so sweet to bring me cupcakes for my birthday!
2 – I am thankful for the opportunity that I have had on this project
3 – I am thankful there are people looking out for me to help me find another project

Leave a Reply

et cetera
