Peaches Prattlings











{September 6, 2014}   Go-Live

Last night I mentioned that I was taking a nap before I had to go back to work and I would explain more tomorrow, here it is today!

As you may or may not know, I am a software trainer and for what I am working on now and when I was in Ann Arbor, I should share the life cycle of a project. At the start of the project, there is a week for orientation, badges, getting to know you and stuff like that. The next few weeks, hopefully 6-8 weeks of T3, Train-The-Trainer, this is where the trainer learns the application so that they can turn around and for the next 6-8 weeks, depending on the number being trained, there is End User training.

After End User training, there is Go-Live, where they flip the switch and “go-live” with the application. And this is where I am sitting right now.

The go-live or “flipping the switch” usually happens about 4:00 in the morning and that’s when it’s “All hands on deck” and everyone is on-board for support. You will have 24/7 support for at least two weeks, that means someone has to be there twenty four hours a day, 12 hour shifts.

Last night, my first shift was 3am-7am, after that I was able to go back to the hotel for a few hours of sleep and up again to go in 6pm-6am and here we are at about midnight, with six hours to go. I am on this shift for a few days, have a day off, then on again, but this time 5am-4pm and so it goes.

When it is jumping and people have questions it’s great, lots of activity, when it’s quiet and things are going well, it’s really quiet.

So, here I sit, writing to you telling you what my life is going to be like for the next few weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
