Peaches Prattlings











{September 4, 2014}   We have a 2nd grader in the family!

EJS started second grade today! What? When did that happen???

Where does the time go? I am going to get sappy, you’ll just have to deal with it!

All over the country, mostly in the northeast, students went back to school this week. In the south, they went back to school last month, traditionally in the north and northeast, the day after Labor Day. You know the drill, pictures all over FaceBook of kids dressed and ready for the first day, some with signs, some not.

For my very wonderful, funny, smart and fantastic niece, yes, I am biased, EJS, started school today, second grade to be exact. I saw pictures posted on FaceBook, two of them, one with just her and MGS and the other with her sister and dad. Such great pictures!

Ok, here comes the sappy…I remember the day I met EJS for the first time, she was one week old, eight days to be exact [at least I think it was eight, could have been seven]. I saw her and held her in my arms and I was in love! And here she is seven years old and starting second grade. 

When i got to their house on Friday, I opened the door and she ran and jumped into my arms, how much longer am I going to be able to pick her up? Who cares, I hope she does it for as long as she wants to and I can at least lift her off the ground a little.

Today, I got a call from EJS! She was calling to tell me about her first day of school. “We didn’t do any learning, we just got to know each other” and tomorrow is going to be a new day and the next step towards a great year. She likes her teacher and classmates, how can you go wrong there?

I want to wish EJS and everyone starting school this week a very good and successful year, whatever your grade. It’s going to be a great year!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

et cetera
