Peaches Prattlings











{August 31, 2014}   A day at the beach…

Is there really more to say? Well, alright, if i must!

Today was going to be a day at the beach with a few other families, to spend time together and celebrate a 5th birthday of another wonderful munchkin who calls me Auntie J!

I got up about 7:30, not because I wanted to, by any means, I was hoping for a little more sleep, but, there you have it. No sleeping late in this house! As I’m trying to get my eyes open, about 7:45/7:50 I hear ‘Is it time to wake Auntie J up yet?” “No” was my sister’s response, but I was up so i went upstairs. 

There was fun to be had! Wrestling, tickling, silliness, you name it, we had it. Then ACS was going for a run and invited me to go. It was going to be a 5 mile day for him, he’s training for a half marathon in a few weeks. Yes, I wanted to go, I haven’t run in 2 weeks, it was time. [and you know I’m participating in a half marathon in November, I need to get moving!]

We started off strong, I kept up with him and his pace, which was a little faster than I am used to, now that i have a rhythm that started to work, but I did it. I kept up for about 1.5 miles and then he kept going and i walk/ran the rest of the way. I did my five miles, just not all running, but I am quite please with what I did.

I met ACS and my dad at the grocery store on the way home, stopped for a few things and hitched a ride home, I’m ok with that. Then it was make lunches, pack the car and get ready to go! What better way to go to the beach than in a convertible with the top dropped, they loved it!

It was a beautiful day for a drive, with the top down, to the beach. Guess who was the only one not bundled up! 

We made it to the house, quick change and it was beach bound, across the street and down the path, what could be better?! The sand was hot, the water was cold and the air was perfect. There is nothing, nothing I tell you, like time on the beach. It so made me want to buy a place on the beach or live there full time. Oh, why can’t Colorado have a beach, then it would be absolutely perfect!

We spent about four hours, maybe more, on the beach. A walk with dad, played a little with the kids, had lunch and then took a nap, glorious! I have to tell you, I never sleep so well as  I do on the beach or right near it, there is nothing like it, did I already say that?
image

The kids had a great time and even started their own ice bucket challenge, so to speak. this consisted of dumping buckets of ocean water on their heads, so stinking cute! One started, then another joined in, eventually there were four of them!
image

After the beach we headed to the house for showers and a cookout and then singing and birthday cake with ice cream, what more could you want?

A few hours later it was back in the car, top up and drive home. On the way, EJS asked if she could ride in my car tomorrow to the fair, guess what my answer was!

On to the next adventure! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
